Big decisions / cross roads of my life

There is a passage in the bible, 1 Corinthians 13:11, that reads  “When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

I am 35 years old, and I think it is about time I stop reasoning like a child, and start thinking like a man.  That is why after much soul searching I’ve come to a tough and hard fought truth.

I need to go with a plasti dip option and change up the color scheme I was going to use on my 68 Ford Galaxie.  wow. Feels good to get that out there.  It’s like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I’m basically a new man now.

I should probably give a quick update on the current status of my car… the shitty 68 ford galaxie, not the shitty 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix. I found a local company that does restorations and partial restorations on older cars like mine.  They can do a back to original restoration, frame up restoration, pimp my rider restoration, or just a “let’s get this thing running and able to barely pass inspection” restorations.  That latter is more what I am looking for.

It’s a pretty sweet operation they run. The labor costs are fantastic, they let you supply parts, and are willing to work with lower monthly budgets. The example work they showed me was pretty fantastic and I think they could get the car turned around and road worthy in just a few months without a lot of cost.

To get ready for them to take over the repair/restoration work on the car, I took a trip up to where it is located currently and took a few pictures. When I last had the car I had spent a good bit of time trying to paint it using the $50 paint job method of rustoleum and mineral spirits mix using a foam roller.  It would have worked well in black but I wasn’t patient enough to do it right, so I tried it in Grey but there really isn’t a high gloss grey rustoleum like there is in blue or black.

sweet sweet ride... hopefully one day at least

sweet sweet ride… hopefully one day at least

none of the stripes or other accents were suppose to be final, just used to give a rough estimate of how it might look.

none of the stripes or other accents were suppose to be final, just used to give a rough estimate of how it might look.

i think it is mandatory to use ford blue when painting the engine... you know... if it is a ford.

i think it is mandatory to use ford blue when painting the engine… you know… if it is a ford.

Another reason I was going to go with this color combination is that it was going to allow me to get away with not re chroming the bumpers and molding.  Whoever had this car last, had painted the entire thing orange, including the bumpers.  I tried to take the paint off of the bumpers carefully, but saw that the chrome was all scratched underneath.  Same with the molding that was still silver, but had bubbles everywhere.

Getting everything re-chromed would be crazy expensive, and I’m not willing to pay that kind of money since this is something I’m going to want to actually drive and isn’t supposed to be a show car. My only issue with this color scheme is that it doesn’t match the interior.

ok, try to imagine it without all the random crap.

ok, try to imagine it without all the random crap.

I literally have no idea what that hunk of metal is for.

I literally have no idea what that hunk of metal is for.

So I have a few options.

  1. Clean up the interior as best I can, patch up the cloth parts of the seat upholstery with a greyish colored maybe suede type material, and ignore the fact that the inside really doesn’t match the exterior.
  2. Re do the interior to really match the outside as I had mocked it up which would cost a lot of money.
  3. Pretend that off green color on the inside is actually light grey.
  4. Rethink the outside color choice so that it incorporates that pale shade of green. and then go with black colors for everything on the inside I have to replace.

I am going to go with option 4 for a few reasons that I am not going to put into a bulleted format.  A big reason I want to go with this option is that the cost of replacing the leater part of the seats would be super high because it also means replacing the upholestry on the doors so that it matches. So I’m pretty much stuck with that color.  I also need to replace or some how fix the dash since it is cracked.  If I get a replacement dash it comes in black for only 85 bucks.  The cost of the floor lining is probably the same if I get it in either black or grey so the only advantage black has is that it might hide more dirt and stains then the grey depending on the shade.  I also think that having a stark difference in color between black and pale green vs. grey and pale green is a better choice.

So now I am thinking of painting the outside of the car using Plasti Dip.  If you aren’t familiar with what plasti dip is, it is basically a cheap painting thing you can read more about by doing a google search.  So here are some examples of what other people have done.

I’m thinking the main color would be something like that above, maybe the midnight betty: https://www.dipyourcar.com/Black-Betty.html

And then the accent colors for the trim and badges could be something like electric lime green :

the one on the right.

Maybe I could just use the satin or matte black on the bumpers and the raised portion of the hood and then use the green on the badges and some trim and maybe pin strip around the raised hood.  Then use a pearl grey on the rest of the car.

Maybe another option is to have someone cheap like Maaco do the main body and then use the plasti dip for the accent pieces.  ughhhhhhh so many choices and so little money.

Speaking of galaxies and sweet paint jobs. I went to the Ford Show convention think in Carlisle this past weekend and took a bunch of pictures:

I think that last car might have been plasti dipped so maybe i should reconsider my plans.

Leave a Reply

