Star Wars New Trailer !!!! Whooooo!!!!!

The latest Star Wars Episode VII teaser trailer came out and I think it may be even more awesome than the first one.  Just like the first one, I have watched it way too many times.  With each successive viewing I find myself feeling more and more like a younger version of myself back when I was super into everything Star Wars.

I honestly don’t know a time that I was this excited for a movie.  Maybe I was this excited about Episode 1, but I kind of doubt it.  See, when that movie was getting ready to drop, I never knew of a bad Star Wars anything.  So this time around I have a ton of faith in J. J. Abrahms based off what he did with Star Trek and these teasers, so that high expectation seems even higher when compared to the low that was episode I, II, and III.

I could probably go on for a while about my excitement compared to other upcoming or past movies, but instead I want to over analyze this trailer. First of all, here is the narration that plays over the trailer that sounds a lot like Luke Skywalker :

“The Force is strong in my family. My father has it. I have it. My sister has it. You have that power too.”

Eventhough the voice sounds like Mark Hamill, it also sounds like a younger version of him; more of a circa Return of the Jedi Hamill than a present day Hamill. Another reason I don’t think that is Luke Skywalker narrating is because he says his father “HAS” the power of the force, not “HAD.  That is an important distinction since *spoilers* Vader died in Return of the Jedi.

Could this be one of Han and Leia’s kids talking?  Maybe a sith lord talking about his family.  Maybe it is a clone of Luke, which is probably a real thing in this movie universe, borrowed from the original extended universe.

Lets run through each scene in the trailer so I can give my initial thoughts for when I first saw them.

Downed_Star_Destroyer

This is just such a bad ass shot.  I love the fact that something like this really give a sense of scale to not just how massive a star destroyer is, but also by extension how big and powerful the empire was and there fore how far they have fallen.  Can you imagine if on earth there was a wrecked deserted space ship the size of a mountain reminding us that we are just a small part of a much larger conflict.

Darth_Vader_Burnt_Helmet

Another pretty bad ass shot, although it is one of those times where I am kind of reminded that there might be some rewriting of the source material, even if it is just subtle.  When I saw the helmet, melted as it is, I initially wondered if they first used a helmet based on the original vader helmet, or if they changed it slightly to make it better some how.  I think they probably didn’t tweak it, and hopefully won’t do much if any of that, but there is always that thought in the back of my mind.

R2D2_Metal_Hand_Luke

So you kind of assume that is Luke with R2, but is it?  There might be a lot of misdirection in these teasers which I’m totally fine with. I think Luke is the character I am most amped to see again.

Lukes_lost_lightsaber

As I mentioned above I know that in the comics or books there is a plot line involving a clone of Luke made from someone finding his severed hand on Bespin (the cloud planet).  I’m thinking that is Anakin’s light saber that was given to Luke that is now going to be used by the Luke clone.

xwings

Whooooooo X wings

Sith_with_Light_Saber

Soooooo, this guy has to be a Sith right?  I mean… he looks evil and has a red light saber sooooo, could be a mis direction though.  So remember what I said about subtle changes on iconic things since there is someone new at the helm.  I’m not sure how I feel about the new look of the light saber with the beam looking more chaotic.

New_Storm_Troopers

Also the storm troopers are slightly different but I think I like it. BTW, there is a new theory on why the storm troopers suck at shooting, which is basically that they don’t.  They are mentioned and shown through out the first trilogy as being good shots, except on the death star which they missed their shots on purpose because they needed the heroes to escape with the tracking device in the millennium falcon.

Solos_Kid_Maybe

Michael Bay directed that one scene.

New_Tie_Fighter

Tie Fighters are a little bit different, which once again is good, and also with the exception of something like the light saber and lord vaders helmet, technology and ships and weapons and fashion and armor and just about everything should have changed slightly during the 30 years since the destruction of the second death star.

KABOOM

Hopefully Jar Jar was killed in that explosion.

Black_Storm_Trooper

I…. is…. so, is there two black guys in the star wars universe?  I guess that is something about the original trilogy that they can change. More women, and more non whites!!!!

New_Star_destroyer

Dope looking imperial ship

Chrome_Storm_Trooper

Dope looking empire … something.  I heard someone say it is a chrome trooper and is being played by the one lady from game of thrones, brean of tarth.

Not_R2D2

I think that something people probably forget about the initial trilogy and are maybe to hard on the second trilogy is that it did have a lot of characters that kind of pandered to kids like C3PO and R2D2.  So having the cute ball droid is fine with me, and he looks kind of dope.

Women_in_StarWars

Speaking of things that look dope. Wait, how old is she. I should probably look that up before I make any more comments.

Black_People_in_StarWars

Theatre turn out might be low in some southern states.

Millenium_Falcon_Whooooooo

Whooooooooo!!!!!!  I get goose bumps every time I see the falcon in these teasers.

Chewie_and_Han

Speaking of getting goose bumps, when he says “Chewie, we’re home”. I don’t know what is the next step beyond goose pumps before you get to the point of fan boy fainting but I’m sure I’m somewhere between those two levels.

StarWars_ep_VII

There aren’t many things that I watch and think “Hey, I think that just healed my soul” but these teasers would totally fall into that category.

I don’t know what the plot of the movies will be and I honestly don’t want to know.  I can’t wait for the movies, but I am happy to have them take their time and make an amazing product.

Leave a Reply

