New Podcast Idea

Popspodcast is no more. Well technically I still have the site up and the recordings are still there, but I haven’t even though about recording anything in the longest time.  More accurately, Popspodcast is dead, and I might actually end up taking it offline just because I’m kind of afraid one day a coworker might find their way to it and then things could be awkward if they find either subject material offensive or they just really don’t like how Bonka use to bring the whole thing to a grinding halt.

Honestly, I don’t think a podcast can work over skype, which I feel was one of the major drawbacks to that podcast. You don’t get the right kind of back and forth the way you do with a face to face podcast.  To me it is the difference between being a passive participant in a conversation between friends at someones house and ease dropping in on a telephone call.

Why am I suddenly thinking about my long neglected podcast? Well I’ve been expanding the number of podcasts I follow thanks to a nice little app I found called “Podcast Addict”. There are probably many similar podcast aggregate tools that function in a similar manner to how itunes works but just for android, but this is new to me and I like it.

he most recent obsession for me has been the Todd Berry podcast, which is fantastic just like much of his stand up, and I ended up binge listening to about 10 of his episodes over the last three days. I’ve added that podcast to my weekly rotation which also includes Star Talk Radio, Mohr Stories, and Fatman on Batman.  I have thought about tossing in the Nerdist, WTF podcast, Adam Carolla podcast, or Comedy Bang Bang, but I don’t want to over dose on witty yet insightful listening since I also spend a large portion of each week day listening to Mike and Mike, Dan Patrick, and Jay Mohr Sports (although the changed start time for “Jay Mohrs” kind of fucks up my schedule).

I didn’t really answer the question about why I was thinking about my podcast though. The main reason I was thinking about it is that I came up with an idea of what I would like to do if I were ever to start one up again. Since there are already so many great podcasts, radio shows, etc… why not just make a rip off podcast.  I could phrase it as an homage podcast, but that sounds too classy for what I was thinking, although it might be a better descriptor than “Ripoff”.

My goal wouldn’t be to either take something someone else did and copy it for my own gain, or to be something where I take an idea from someone else and put my own spin on it and make it mine.  Instead I was thinking that this hypothetical podcast is more along the lines of taking topics or talking points from other podcasts, TV Shows, Websites, and deconstructing them, challenging them, expanding on them, satirizing them, or just reviewing them.

As a for instance, I was listening to Mohrstories recently and he had a draft of the funniest, yet not very popular comedians. I think Bill Burr was the number one pick which I agree with, but kind of feel like he might explode in popularity soon similar to the way guys like louie C.K and Patton Oswalt have over previous years (but maybe not to that degree).  The hypothetical Ripoff podcast could do the same thing, probably with a tweak such as not being so restrictive on who is and isn’t popular, but of course we would mention where we got the idea from. Another idea would be to do a Q and A similar to what they do on Star Talk Radio with their Cosmic Queries except I wouldn’t have real answers like Dr. Neil Degrasse Tyson and instead would just make shit up and see if it even comes close to the answer he gave.

Just using podcast as the source is too restrictive so I also think profiling certain websites might also work.  I would love to do a run down of ideas for HowitshouldHaveEnded or debate an upcoming or past episode of death battle from ScrewAttack.  How about listing all the Sins a CinemaSins review of a movie commits (like over using the word “cliche” cliche *ding*). We could come up with our own The Onion headlines and stories, or bitch about the rankings on …. well ranker, but also any website that does a poorly informed top however many list designed as click bait.

There could also be recurring features that would be blatant copies from other shows such as at the end of the podcast a “What did you learn today” segment just like they do on the DP show, or maybe even reading a selection of Bonka’s Tweets just like Ricky Gervais use to do with Karl’s diary. EPSNs PTI has a ton of bits that they do (Over Under, Role Play, What’s the word, Odds Makers) that could be done to break up sections of the podcast. Even something like one sentence movie reviews of shows or movies that I saw recently could be added even thought it isn’t a rip off of any one person or show but is more of a general internet running gag/thing.

Obviously the fun of a podcast like this wouldn’t come from copying something someone else did and trying to repeat it verbatim. Instead there would be a vicarious nature to it where you could take part in something that you enjoy but normally could only experience passively as an audience member.  Granted, there wouldn’t be any illusion that a segment or topic would rise to the same level as that of the originator. But it might be fun to participate in and maybe listen to.

Leave a Reply

