Louie Kind of Sucked Last Night

I have a well documented man crush on Louis C.K, so there was virtually no way I wouldn’t either love his new show on FX, or at the very least become an unabashed apologist for it instead.  So it kind of pains me to say the following; last night’s episode of Louie kind of sucked.

Outside of the poker scene in episode 2, the best part of the season so far has been the small samplings of Louie’s stand up that he inserts into each episode.  It’s not that the rest of the show is bad, it just that I love his stand up and am always happy to see new material from him.  Also, that poker scene was a fantastic glimpse into what I hope is a realistic behind the scenes look at what comics are like when they hang out together (i.e. just like everyone else but just slightly funnier).

The rest of the show seems to be a somewhat disjointed series of quasi sketches. (btw the word quasi is a great word to use when your not intelligent enough to know the appropriate word for the situation your trying to describe.)  What I think is unique is that most episodes or segments are basically one single joke where the scene builds to the punchline at the end of the scene.  Compare that to most sitcoms set up their scenes so that you insert either and awkward or over the top ridiculous situation, and then the characters create the humor with:  several one liners,  a smattering of witty back and forth dialog,  a sight gag or two, and maybe a surprisingly insightful applause worth comment.

This approach can be great if executed correctly, which it has been in a bunch of Louie’s first 3 or 4 episodes.  My favorite so far was Louie almost violently making out with the chubby woman who had a crush on in junior high.  The build up was great and the suddenness of their awkward passion made it hilarious.

I should point out that Louie doesn’t shy away from stuff like one liners, or witty back and forth dialog, or sight gags, but I still think he is less focused on that and more focused on a specific over all joke than you would see in most other shows.  So why didn’t I like last nights episode.  Well the last scene just didn’t build to a joke i thought was overly funny.  I still laughed, but I think the awkwardness could have been drawn out more.

You know what, maybe I did think the joke was funny but just poorly performed.  When I watched it, I actively remember thinking “Man, I know I should be finding this situation really funny but i’m just not digging it.”  Maybe it was pacing.  Yeah lets go with that.  Louie is a Stand Up Comedian and makes his living making people laugh by saying insanely funny things.  Maybe he should be talking more in his scenes.  Instead of reacting silently to something someone is doing or some situation he’s in, he should instead be openly talking about or mocking the actions going on around him.

Damn it, he does do that sometimes, and I like those scenes but even those suck sometimes.   Ok here’s my next idea for why it sucks.  It’s just bad producing and directing.  Taking a look at IMDB it shows the producer is Johnathan Stern, and his IMDB has him listed as the producer on shows like:

  • Children’s Hospital – Might be good based on what I saw so far
  • Funny or Die Presents – I like the website but heard the show on HBO sucked.
  • Wainy Days – No idea what this is
  • Other stuff I never heard of – that’s not a title, I just didn’t feel like listing all the rest of it since I had never heard of it before.

I could be a dick and say that he’s not experienced enough or has no hit shows, but neither do I.  Actually there’s virtually no way that guy isn’t a million times more happy and successful and talented than me so I have no idea why I started to go down this road in the first place.

It says that Louie is the Director, so maybe he shouldn’t do that.  Have another director do it and see if it’s less disjointed and other words I think make me sound intelligent.

I also think one of the reasons I am disappointed is because Louie is so awesome when tearing apart someone else’s disappointing work as seen on his interview/film review on Opie and Anthony.


NSFW language

Or if you want to listen to Louie Really tear into someone hilariously, but also have an hour to kill check out the links below.

pt 1 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAC3QrAQ8b0&feature=related

pt 2 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjpIXq84nv4&feature=related

pt 3 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6qdkpNMH5U&feature=related

pt 4 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrS40wtr16g&feature=related

pt 5 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YbEvJh_tkM&feature=related

pt 6 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNfGheffD6g&feature=related

pt 7 – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfSr-JGlnrA

After watching these and laughing a lot a forgot what I writing about.  Ummmm yeah, watch Louie it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

