Ok so I played two heads up matches last night. One against Six and then another one against tmace. Both were for $5.00. I got the hand history emailed to me for the me vs. Six match so I’ll list some of the hands I thought were notable.

Hand 1: I wanted to set the tone early and make sure that I was the aggresor. I had noticed that in Six’s heads up with Tmace, Mace had been the aggressor which let him keep the chip lead for most of the match. Mace’s only downfall was his propensity to go all in preflop.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1500 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1500 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 10 tournament chips sixpix: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<< [2s 8h 7s]sixpix: bets 100 tournament chipsBiglazy44: raises 200 tournament chips to 300 tournament chipssixpix: foldsBiglazy44: uncalled bet (200 tournament chips) returnedBiglazy44: doesn't show handBiglazy44: collects 400 tournament chips from the pot

I wanted to let Six know that if he bet on the flop and missed I would raise with any kind of pairor draw and not let him see free cards after a bluff. He might have completly missed the flop which would have meant folding was an easy choice for him, but my real goal was to let him know that i would reraise and not just call. It should also be noted that my betting pattern was extremly chaotic at this point. I did this for two reasons. I wanted to keep six from picking up on any patterns early, plus I wanted the betting structure to be a little higher at the begining so that if I caught a hand early it wouldn’t seem like an overbet if I pushed it hard after the flop.

Hand 2: This isn’t a very exciting hand, but it’s only the 2nd hand of the tournament and i have QQ and win the pot with a reraise preflop. I show the hand so that six hopefully thinks that eventhough I’m rasing early and being aggressive it’s only cause I have hands. If he thinks this way it will be easier to bluff him later on.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1700 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1300 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 10 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<

Hand 3: In order to keep six thinking that i’m only going to be raising with good hands I will need to play this next hand tighter than I might later on in the match. Of course if I had gotten a big hand I would have pushed the action but you can see this isn’t the case.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1740 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1260 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 10 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<< [Js Kd 3c As] [5d]sixpix: bets 40 tournament chipsBiglazy44: foldssixpix: uncalled bet (40 tournament chips) returnedsixpix: doesn't show handsixpix: collects 40 tournament chips from the pot

I might have been able to win the pot with a bet on the flop or the river but I wanted to make it appear as though i was folding because I didn’t have a hand… which I didn’t. The only worry is that Six may have been bluffing which will build his confidence to do more of the same. But with only a 40 chip bet it seemed more like he was asking for a call.

Hand 5: I had just played hand 4 tight again by not making any bets and folding on the turn when six bet the pot. I had no hand so it was easy to lay it down but I cared more about the tight image at this point. This I thought was a good hand to play aggressive. I didn’t get a lot of help from the hole cards or the flop though.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1580 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1420 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 10 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<< [Qh Kd 5s Ts] [Th]sixpix: checksBiglazy44: bets 200 tournament chipssixpix: foldsBiglazy44: uncalled bet (200 tournament chips) returnedBiglazy44: doesn't show handBiglazy44: collects 120 tournament chips from the pot

I had an opened ended straight on the turn but that wasn’t why i called six’s bet. I was hoping he would bet on the river and I could reraise and give the apperance I was slow playing the hand. The added benefit is that I had a small chance of having to show my hand. He would lay down the hand if he didn’t have a straight or trips or two pair. If he had one of thoes he would reraise and i could lay my hand down, if he calls, then i can just muck when I losse and not have to show a complete bluff. The overbet at the end was questionable because it might have signaled bluff but I still wanted to be eratic with the betting at this point.

Hand 9: Six has won 2 out of the last 3 pots where the only money won was the blinds, but he makes a good (I’m guesing) play on hand 9 to take the chips lead and shift the momentum.

  • Game # 67372948: Texas Holdem No Limit (10/20) 08/31/2005 19:05:36Table “T891794-1” (Tournament Table) Seat 8 is the buttonSeat 2: Biglazy44 (1585 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1415 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 10 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> SUMMARY <<

While my fold was fairly easy, I still think I might have had the best hand at the time. More likely though Six raised with a pair of kings so that if there was a flush draw by me I couldn’t draw to it. If Six had a flush draw then he made a great bet to take down the pot. If he had a flush allready then he might have been able to make more money if i had caught a 2 or a ten on the turn or river, but if his flush isn’t ace high then he should still bet to find out where he is in the hand. Hopefully my fold wasn’t viewed as an atempted bluff, but instead a tough laydown of what i thought was 2nd best hand. Either way I’m just hoping six didn’t reraise with nothing and is gaining confidence.

Hand 14: The last 4 hands were fairly uneventful with me and six just trading punches. Then the following hand took place which put a big blow to my chip stack.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1355 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1645 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 10 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 20 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SHOWDOWN <<>> SUMMARY <<

I could have lost a lot more and probably would have if I had an ace of clubs. I was just glad that I followed my rule that outside of a bluff I will not bet on the river unless I know I want to get called. with the board showing what it did I didn’t want to get called if i bet. Thank God six slow played the river. If he had bet anything up to the size of the pot i probably would have called. After that hit, six will have almost a 2 to 1 chip advantage. That means that when I enter a pot I will need to win it. That doesn’t mean I’m going to start waiting for the best hand, But I will start raising after almost every flop.

Hand 25: On hadn 20 i’m down to 780 chips and catch pocket AA but a king on the board scares six from any more betting and I improve to 925 and then bump that up to 1045 by being aggressive preflop. But I get droped back a couple of chips on the next hand.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1045 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1955 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 15 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 30 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SHOWDOWN <<

Hand 34: After going back down to 705 when my kings got cracked and missing the next flop with AQ I am down to 550. I spend the next several hands winning blinds and move up to 735 in chips when the first all in of the match comes up.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (735 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (2265 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 15 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 30 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SHOWDOWN <<>> SUMMARY <<

I was the underdog by a little but did get lucky to double up and put us about even. I feel good at this point because I have been the aggressor in most hands, and most of the hands I lost at showdown, I had good hands against really good hands. Not that I played it perfect or anything, and I’m sure I folded some winning or leading hands, but I felt confident now that I wasn’t short stacked.

Hand 35: Dead even in chips I am able to take the lead with the folowing hand.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1500 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1500 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 15 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 30 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SUMMARY <<

That hand pops me up to 1740 chips and the lead, which mean well nothing right now cause it’s not that big of a lead, but with blinds starting to increase I will want to stay active in raising, so that six isn’t picking up my blinds. I’ve also noticed at this point Six is calling almost every raise preflop, which means that the pots on the flop are failry large. Most flops have pots of about 300. With that much in a pot after a preflop raise by me, if I make a continuation bet and loose, then i lost 450 on the hand and also the chip lead. If I can win two of these in a row I’ll be feeling pretty good.

Hand 36: Good

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1690 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1310 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 25 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 50 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> SUMMARY <<

Hand 37: Not so good

  • Game # 67375723: Texas Holdem No Limit (25/50) 08/31/2005 19:21:39Table “T891794-1” (Tournament Table) Seat 8 is the buttonSeat 2: Biglazy44 (1840 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1160 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 25 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 50 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> SUMMARY <<

Hand 38: Bad

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1790 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1210 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 25 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 50 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> SUMMARY <<

Hand 39: Bad but could have been worse.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1540 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1460 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 25 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 50 tournament chipsBiglazy44: says “Biglazy44: 33”>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> SUMMARY <<

And that quickly the tide has turned with six now holdin the lead with 1710 chips to my 1290.

Hand 41: I almost pull to even and then I hit one of my cards on the turn but it was a better card for six.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1440 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1560 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 25 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 50 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SHOWDOWN <<>> SUMMARY <<

Hand 44: I’m hurting but not desperate at this point as six is holding a 700 chip lead over me. I wish I could have gotten more money out of this hand, but I don’t want six to hit a flush and bust me out. I’d rather have the gauranteed win on the turn that puts me in good chip position than worry about making an extra 600 or so chips.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1115 tournament chips) [button]Seat 8: sixpix (1885 tournament chips)Biglazy44: posts small blind 25 tournament chipssixpix: posts big blind 50 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> SUMMARY <<

Hand 57: Six wins 8 of the next 13 hands but I am able to increase my lead by another 100 or so chips. None of these hands make it to the river and only a few actually make it to the flop. This was another hand that didn’t make it to the river but there was still a lot of action.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (1990 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (1010 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 50 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 100 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> SUMMARY <<

I’m not sure what six had here but my guess is that he was just attempting a bluff or had a weak hand and got scared off by my check raise. I hadn’t originally planned on check raising, but i didn’t want to fold to his bet, and if i just called he might get free cards to help him. It worked out well for me. To tell you the truth I was kind of shoked six layed down his hand I can only thin that he had somthing like A4 or k5 or something similar. If that was the case then there is nothing really wrong with his play. The only problem with the fold is that he is left with 585 chips and I have 2415. With a short stack he will need to double up quickly.

Hand 60: This is always a tough spot for me when someon is short stacked because you want to push them around but you know they will be ready to jump in with virtually anything in order to double up. Over the next three hands I steal the blinds, which surprised me since at this point if six doubles up from 335 he goes up to 670, but if he would have gone all in right after hand 57 he would go up to 1070. But if his hands were absolute trash then there’s nothing you can do I guess. Six finaly did catch a hand on hand 60 but it was at the worse time possible for him.

  • Seat 2: Biglazy44 (2665 tournament chips)Seat 8: sixpix (335 tournament chips) [button]sixpix: posts small blind 50 tournament chipssixpix: posts small blind 50 tournament chipsBiglazy44: posts big blind 100 tournament chips>>> HOLE CARDS <<>> FLOP <<>> TURN <<>> RIVER <<>> SHOWDOWN <<

That hand had nothing to do with skill and had all to do with luck.

I also played Tmace latter on that night but lost that match up. I’d post a simialr hand analysis there, but my hand history request didn’t include thoes hands evidently.

– Lazy

Leave a Reply

